You are here

Back to top

Authors Scott Blackburn and Culley Holderfield

Scott and Culley join us to discuss their books. Don't miss this NC author showcase!

Scott Blackburn is an English instructor and a 2017 graduate of the Mountainview MFA program. He lives in High Point, North Carolina, with his wife and two children. When he is not writing and teaching, Scott enjoys training in combat sports such as boxing, Muay Thai, and Ju-jitsu, in which he holds a black belt. His debut novel, It Dies with You, released on June 7, 2022. Scott has also contributed to publications such as Crime ReadsMystery Tribune, and Shotgun Honey.

Culley Holderfield learned to love storytelling on the porch of a cabin in the mountains of North Carolina. After graduating from UNC-Chapel Hill, he ventured to South America, Africa, and Europe. When not writing or working in community development finance, he spends his time hiking, paddling, and pondering in the outdoors. His short stories and poetry have appeared in a variety of publications. Hemlock Hollow is his debut novel. He lives in Durham, NC.

Event Date: 
Saturday, January 14, 2023 - 2:00pm
Address: 
1101 N. Main St., Suite 202
High Point, NC 27262
Books: 
Hemlock Hollow Cover Image
$18.00
ISBN: 9781646032860
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Regal House Publishing - December 6th, 2022

“Past and present, love and loss intertwine in a magical mountain hollow. Holderfield’s love of place shines in his sensitive descriptions while his storytelling enthralls the reader.”
—Vicki Lane, author of And the Crows Took Their Eyes

“In Culley Holderfield’s Hemlock Hollow, Caroline McAlister ponders The Journal of Carson Quinn, translating what she reads, ever wanting to understand. Her haunts prompt us to remember our own heritages. A former college teacher, Caroline McAlister praises personal history, finally wearing it like a charm, researching and recalling characters she cannot let go.”
—Shelby Stephenson, poet laureate of North Carolina (2015-2018), author of More and Shelby’s Lady: The Hog Poems


It Dies with You: A Novel Cover Image
$26.59
ISBN: 9781643859392
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Crooked Lane Books - June 7th, 2022

“Blackburn has a burner of a book on his hands. He's a crime writer whose name you need to remember, and if you read It Dies with You, I can guarantee you won't forget it. Fans of Michael Farris Smith, David Joy, Daniel Woodrell, and Chris Offutt, this is the new writer you've been waiting for." 

—Wiley Cash, NY Times bestselling author of A Land More Kind than Home and When Ghosts Come Home